About Us

 → The DESERTEC Foundation is a global civil society initiative aiming to shape a sustainable future. It was established on 20 January 2009 as a non-profit foundation that grew out of a network of scientists, politicians and economists from around the Mediterranean, who together developed the DESERTEC Concept. Founding members of DESERTEC Foundation are the German Association of the Club of Rome, members of the international network as well as committed private individuals.

What do we do?

We are working on the fast global implementation of the DESERTEC Concept, a comprehensive solution that combats global warming, ensures a reliable energy supply, and promotes development and security. The team of the DESERTEC Foundation consits of people, who believe that another world is possible. Committed to turn Vision into Reality, each team member works pro bono to support the mission.

— We raise awareness for the benefits of DESERTEC and the energy-potential of Desert Regions
— Promote the establishment of the political and economic framework conditions necessary for a global transition to renewables
— Support knowledge transfer and scientific co-operation
— Foster exchange and co-operation with the private sector

The Team of the DESERTEC Foundation


The supra-regional partnerships, which will be developed through DESETEC-projects, will lead to a new chapter of cooperation between people from the European Union, West Asia and North Africa.” …

Supervisory Board

Chairman of Supervisory Board

Frithjof Finkbeiner founded, together with Ernst-Ulrich von Weizsäcker and many other esteemed persons, the Global Contract Foundation more then 10 years ago. Since then, the Vice-President of the German Association of the Club of Rome and his family have …

Member of Supervisory Board

A former president, chairman and chief financial officer of various companies of international standing, Prof. Manfred Bohnen has significant experience gained over more than 50 years. His vast experience includes important positions such as president of Euro Waste Service …

Member of Supervisory Board

Philipp Schoeller, father of 7 children, lives and works in Munich. Besides his Supervisory Board’s activities, he is also voluntarily active in the Board of the German Association CLUB OF ROME and member of an advisory board of the …

Member of Supervisory Board

Rolf Nonnenmacher is born in 1954. He ist a Honorary professor at the Goethe University in Frankfurt and a KPMG Chairman of the EMA region. He is also board member in the following companies: International Federation of Accountants, Continental …

Member of Supervisory Board

Jonathan Walters worked for the World Bank until September 2014. He was the Director for Regional Programs and Partnerships in the Middle East and North Africa Region (MENA) and led the World Bank’s $6 billion MENA Concentrated Solar Power …

Board of Directors


A world in balance is what Andreas Huber envisions. Accordingly, he is dedicated in civil societal work in several organizations and as professional Speaker for sustainability topics. In his position as the Secretary-General of the German Association CLUB OF …


Hubert Schwingshandl is an expert for energy economy. He started his career in 1972 and hold leading several positions. Last from 2007 to 2013 as head of the energy economic dept. by E.ON Energie in Munich. In frame of …

The DESERTEC Foundation was founded on January 20, 2009 by individuals with support from His Royal Highness Prince El Hassan bin Talal and the German Association CLUB OF ROME.

The founding donors are:

Jörn, Nils and Pierre Aldag; Christian Breyer; Dr. Klaus Burghard; Dr. Daniel Dahm; Prof. Dr. Michael Düren; Dr. Ing. Hani El Nokraschy; HRH Prince El Hassan bin Talal; Friedrich Führ; German Association Club of Rome; Gisela and Sebastian Gallehr; Dr. Thiemo Gropp; Rupert Hierzer; Dipl.-Ing. Taco Holthuizen; Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Hueck; Tim Hufermann; Dr. Gerhard Knies; Dr. Wolfgang Knothe; Mouldi Miled; Tobias Morell; Abdel Hamied Moussa; Francis Petitjean; Stephan Schoenen; Max Schön; Götz Schuchart; Christian Steinberg; Dr. Oliver Steinmetz; Michael Straub; Stewart Taggart; Dr. Gerhard Timm; Dr. Gerry Wolff.